Suite for piano

(2009/2013, rev.2019)

Duration: c.15′


for solo piano

Praeludium – Scherzino – Canzona – Intermezzo (Ostinato) – Toccata

The Scherzino was commissioned by BBC Radio 3 for the 200th anniversary of Mendelssohn’s birth and may be performed separately.

First performance of Scherzino: 8 May 2009, Andrew Zolinsky/Birmingham Town Hall, UK (live broadcast on BBC Radio 3)

Published by Boosey & Hawkes. Click here for more information.


“[Lloyd Moore’s ‘Scherzino’] was highly chromatic, virtuoso music that created it’s own unique sound-world and took the audience on a short, idiosyncratic and tempestuous journey.”

(Symon Clarke, William Alwyn Festival review, British Music Society Journal)

Programme Note

This work began life with its second movement, the Scherzino, which was written to a commission from BBC Radio 3 to mark the Mendelssohn bicentenary year in 2009. It was clear that this short piece had limited prospects for future performances on its own so I began to think about some other movements to go with it. Over time, the present sequence eventually emerged.

The first movement, Praeludium, sets out most of the musical material to be developed in the subsequent movements. There follows the aforementioned Scherzino, a Canzona which is written entirely in the treble register until the very end, an Intermezzo which is characterised by a constant ostinato pattern in the bass, before finishing with a virtuoso Toccata which, near the close, brings the suite full circle by harking back to the opening Praeludium.

This is a sample only. Click here to download the complete score from Boosey & Hawkes.