Three Epigrams of Kathleen Raine


Duration: 6’30”


for mezzo-soprano and ensemble

flute (= piccolo), oboe (= cor anglais), clarinet in A (= Eb clarinet), bassoon, horn, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass

First performance: 11 February 2006, Louise Mott (mezzo-soprano), members of the Philharmonia Orchestra, cond: Christopher Austin/Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, UK


Of the three brand new pieces, Lloyd Moore’s ‘Three Epigrams of Kathleen Raine’ stood out, with the mezzo Louise Mott revealing their verdant inspiration.

(Hilary Finch, The Times)

…the music always engrossing and of a larger dimension than the five [sic] minute duration might suggest.

(Colin Anderson, Classical Source)

Programme Note

I was introduced to the poetry of Kathleen Raine when I was a student and made a number of unsuccessful attempts to set it at the time. These settings, however, were written in 2003 when, after re-reading a number of her shorter poems, I decided to try again.

In this particular grouping, the three settings follow a progression from the dreams of a sleeper in early morning, via a joyful celebration of a spring day, to a graveside visit in the dusk of early evening.